sticky contact






  • Associate Professor James Middleton, MBBS, PhD, FACRM, FAFRM (RACP)
  • Board Member since 1997, President since 1998

James is the Director of the State Spinal Cord Injury Service located at the Royal Rehabilitation Centre Sydney, Senior Medical Specialist for the NSW Spinal Outreach Service and Associate Professor in the Rehabilitation Studies Unit, Faculty of Medicine at the University of Sydney. In addition James holds an Honorary Senior Staff Specialist position in the Spinal Cord Injuries Unit at Royal North Shore Hospital. James also sits on a range of scientific advisory and steering committees.


Vice President

  • David Riches, B Ed, Dip Teaching
  • Board Member since 2009, Vice President since 2013

David is Director of his own road safety consultancy firm, with government and local councils his main clients. He has worked as a teacher, road safety education consultant with the Department of Education, road safety manager with the NSW Roads and Traffic Authority and senior manager in injury prevention and health promotion with Area Health Services. As such David brings a wealth of experience in education and strategic planning, as well as road safety and injury prevention for young people. David is also a former President of the Board of the Arthritis Foundation NSW, providing excellent insights into the NGO sector.



  • Ian Bourne, CA
  • Board Member since January 2000

Ian is a Chartered Accountant and is currently Regional Finance Manager with UnitingCare Ageing. Ian has over 30 years experience in the field of Finance and Business Administration, including his previous role as Director of Finance, Royal Rehabilitation Centre Sydney and before that many years working with a major international accounting firm.


Board Member

  • Dr Jane Elkington, BSc, MPH, PhD
  • Board Member since 1999, Vice President 2008 to 2012

Jane is a Consultant in health and safety to a range of government and non-government organisations, as well as a part time researcher with the George Institute for international health. She has over 15 years experience in research, policy development and program development in injury prevention. Jane's appointments include a number of state and national ministerial advisory committees.


Board Member

  • Max Lloyd- Jones
  • Board Member since 2010

Max is Managing Director of the Lloyd-Jones Meakin Group. Under his leadership, the group has assisted major Australian and global organisations rapidly shift their culture and improve their performance, using safety as a business driver. Max started out in his business career as an Accountant working for various US multinational corporations and gained a great deal of experience across a large number of markets, countries and cultures, then moved through several general and senior business management opportunities before establishing his strategic safety consultancy.


Board Member

  • Gregory Cantwell, BSoc Sc, Masters Public Health
  • Board Member since 2014

Greg is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Peer Support Australia, an organisation committed to improving the social and emotional wellbeing of young people. His senior management experience includes Executive Officer for the National Stroke Foundation and Executive Director of Road Safety Education Limited.
He has over twenty years’ experience in health and youth sectors working in both small and large not for profit organisations including the Australian Red Cross, Kidney Health Australia, Asthma Foundation, Macular Degeneration Foundation and Scouts Australia (NSW).
Greg holds a Masters in Public Health, and qualifications in social science and business management. His strengths include business development, influencing government policy and engaging corporate sector support for programs.

Go to top